i’m trying to get a sense of where i am

June 2, 2010

…for an unforeseen side effect

Transcribed and edited from the past.

Jun. 19th, 2009 | 01:08 pm

dreaming with our hands, dreaming with our minds

A cold, blue and black hallway in the same colored building, a lot of glowing metal laying around. It’s all very alien, but apparently I have been here many times before. Walking, perhaps running, trying to get to a class on time. I made it while kids were still standing around, talking.

Seeing old classmates in a new situation, saving a small furry creature in biology class. Then, nothing. No aim, no angle. Just leaving, walking around and yelling “Hello? Is anybody out there?”. Dreaming has been forgotten by others.

Somewhere that I used to go to all the time, yet now I live so far away in both space and time. It’s familiar yet old. It’s my elementary school. I can feel panic even though I can’t really see people. The sky is night, I can see through the windows, yet, there are strange streaks of red and orange that seem to yell ‘run’. I can tell something is going on, so I’m trying to find something. I run outside, to see a strange object crash onto the playground, turning it into just a field. Like in those movies, a UFO. I can see people, sort of, because they’re running so fast. A man comes out of the object. Tall, dark, sinister. He floats instead of walks. I hide behind a brick wall yet I can’t help but peak around the corner. “He won’t look at me, I’m only one of hundreds of children,” I think to myself, or perhaps yell it out loud because he slowly turns my way. Paralyzed with terror I can only wait for him. But a second later, not even, my feet begin to slowly rise. I’m floating, almost surfing, yes I’m surfing on the air, and I stumble as I skate away.

The man is talking to me now. “Where are you going? You can’t escape. I am the End, I will kill everyone”. I could hear his voice ringing though my ears as clear as if it was blasted to me. He has one of those movie antagonist voices that thunders into me. I think I’m crying, but I’m not sure because of the paralysis you get when you fear for your life in the first few minutes. But after that I can only feel numb.

A feeling of helplessness is overwhelming, but… I am superior because I can fly! the sensation lingers when I awake. although, so does the man’s voice.

Leave a Reply

